MONROE COUNTY UPSET TAX SALE
SEPTEMBER 11, 2019
CONDITIONS OF SALE

The following conditions shall govern the Upset Tax Sale of properties by the Monroe County Tax
Claim Bureau for delinquent taxes as scheduled for SEPTEMBER 11, 2019 and to such other
dates and times, upon adjournment, which may be necessary:

All properties are sold under and subject to Act 542 of 1947, P.L. 1368, known as the
Pennsylvania Real Estate Tax Sale Law, as amended. All title transfers are under and subject to
the act.

Anyone who desires to bid at the sale shall fill out a registration card prior to the commencement
of the sale. This card will be retained by the Bureau as part of its permanent records. This
information will be used by the Bureau for the preparation and issuance of the deed. Necessary
information shall include, but not be limited to, the name or names of all persons who will appear
on the deed, relationship between bidders, address of all parties and telephone numbers. The card
shall be signed by the bidder. If the grantee is to be a corporation, partnership or association, the
bidder must provide authority for bidding on behalf of the entity. Bidders are permitted and
encouraged to pre-register prior to the sale. Upon successful completion of the registration card,
the bidder will receive a bidder’s number. This card shall be used by the bidder when he/she
desires to place a bid on a particular property. The bidder shall raise the card during the bidding
process in order for the auctioneer to record the number of the highest bidder.

Within 20 days following the sale, the successful bidder is required to provide certification to the
Bureau that he/she is not delinquent in paying real estate taxes to any of the taxing districts where
the property is located and that he/she has no municipal utility bills that are more than one year
outstanding.

All sales are subject to prior payment of taxes due and to confirmation of the sale by the Monroe
County Court of Common Pleas, Monroe County, Pennsylvania. Payment of taxes, prior to the
property being struck down, will take precedence over sale of any property.

No property shall be sold unless the bid equals or exceeds the upset price as announced by the
auctioneer. In the event of a dispute between bidders or on failure of the successful bidder to pay
the purchase price, the property will again be put up for sale. Payment for properties sold in the
morning session must be paid for no later than one hour after the last property was sold or by 1:00
p.m. whichever time is earlier. Payment for properties sold in the afternoon session must be paid
for no later than 4:00 p.m. of that day. Any property that remains unpaid for after 4:00 p.m. of sale
day shall be put back up for sale. Properties for which no adequate bid is received may be re-
exposed to bidding at a later time during the sale or any adjournment thereof at the discretion of
the auctioneer. Any bidder who defaults on payment for any property purchased at the sale will
not be allowed to purchase any other property at the sale or subsequent sales.

The initial bid on any property must equal the upset price. The upset price will include all back
taxes, Bureau costs, municipal claims, if any and current taxes, if applicable, due and owing. In
the event the bidding exceeds the upset price, all subsequent bids must be in at least $100
increments. In addition to the bid price, Purchaser shall be responsible for payment of the 2%



realty transfer tax, recording fees in the amount of $109.75 and the 2% auctioneers’ fee. These
items will be computed after the property is sold and all Purchasers will be required to pay the bid
price and costs at the same time, as herein provided. Payment shall be made by cashier’s check or
money order, payable to the “Monroe County Tax Claim Bureau”. CASH IS NOT ACCEPTED.

The Bureau will sell the properties as described in the docket books of the Tax Claim
Bureau. The Bureau has made every reasonable effort to keep these proceedings free from
error. However, in every case, the properties are offered by the Tax Claim Bureau without
any guarantee or warranty whatsoever, either as to existence, correctness of ownership, size,
boundaries, location, structures or lack of structures upon the lands, liens, title or any other
matter or thing whatsoever. No adjustments will be made after the property is struck down.

The Tax Claim Bureau will issue a deed to the Purchaser upon confirmation of the sale by the
Monroe County Court of Common Pleas. The deed will not contain any warranty either general or
special.

The Tax Claim Bureau will sell the properties subject to existing occupancy, if any.

All properties are sold under and subject to payment of registry fees, municipal or
government claims not paid out of the sale price and any other liens, encumbrances, or

mortgages.

MONROE COUNTY TAX CLAIM BUREAU

REALTY TRANSFER TAX CALCULATIONS:

COUNTY ASSESSED VALUE x COMMON LEVEL RATIO FACTOR (5.65) = FAIR MARKET VALUE

2% x FAIR MARKET VALUE = REALTY TRANSFER TAX



