​Information On Applying For A Marriage License
This site allows you to submit information for "ON-LINE" marriage application to the Monroe County Orphans’ Court, Marriage License Office. Your application is NOT complete until you appear in the office of the Orphans Court, Marriage License Bureau with the required documents and fee.  

 

Marriage Licenses By Appointment Only

 

If you plan on getting married in the next 60 days 


Once you have applied on-line, 

 

Phone (570) 517-3975 or (570)-517-3385 to schedule an appointment.​

 

 

*** Note: No marriage license can be issued to a couple traveling from one of the States
on the Pennsylvania Department of Health’s no travel list.***

   

The fee is $40.00 cash or money order. No checks or credit cards.​

 

 BEFORE YOU START PLEASE NOTE:

See list of requirements below.

  • PA Consolidated Statute Title 23 requires a 3-day waiting period upon applicants' appearance in the Marriage License Bureau.
  • Application must be made within 60 days of the wedding date.
  • Marriage licenses are valid for 60 days from the issuance and may be used anywhere in the State of PA.
  • DO NOT APPLY unless you are within 60 days of your wedding date.
  • Both parties should be aged 18 or over – June 2020.

 

REQUIREMENTS:

 

  • Valid government issued ID (state driver’s license, passport, or military ID)
  • $40.00 fee. Cash or Money Order.
  • If you have been married before you will need a CERTIFIED COPY OF YOUR divorce DECREE with a Judge's signature, or a Death certificate. (this applies to ALL couples that have been previously married and divorce must be more that 30 days ).

Location/ Hours: Clerk of Orphans Court, Monroe County Courthouse, 610 Monroe, Suite 330, Stroudsburg, Pa  18360 (570) 517-3385  Monday / Friday application time 9:00AM – 4:00PM​

  

​**** Please turn-off any web viewer pop-up blockers before you start. ****

COMPLETION OF APPLICATION INFORMATION:

When you are ready to complete the application and submit to the county, click on the ACCEPT at the bottom of this screen. You can then begin entering your information. You must complete the information and submit it to the Marriage License Bureau OR save the information for a later time.

    • Important: Non-English speaking applicants, to ensure accurate applications, can make use of the court approved telephone translator service during the application appointment in the Courthouse. In addition all foreign language documents are required to be translated in English prior to application. If you require assistance with this service or the names of such providers, please call the Monroe County Administrators Office at (570) 517-3009.

 

MARRIAGE LICENSE APPLICATION DISLAIMER

Applicants are advised that persons who have been ordained over the internet may not be persons permitted to perform marriages in Pennsylvania. A recent Court decision held that persons ordained over the internet are not ministers as defined in the marriage law of Pennsylvania if they do not regularly preach to a congregation that regularly meets at a place of worship. You are advised to consult an attorney concerning the legality of such marriages.

 

PLEASE BE ADVISED: If you choose to be married by someone other than officiates specifically listed and authorized by Pennsylvania law, the burden of proof regarding the legality (or lack thereof) of your marriage will be upon you should future issues arise that requires a determination of the marriage's validit 

Effective January 1, 2006 COMMON LAW marriage is no longer valid in Pennsylvania.

AS of June 1997, BLOOD TESTS ARE NO LONGER REQUIRED 

AS of June 2020, Both parties should be aged 18 or over.​

 

​**** Please turn-off any web viewer pop-up blockers before you start. ****​

                                                       ACCEPT                                     DECLINE